Get to Know
our Scholars

Play Video

Building the best possible Maine

For over 25 years, the Mitchell Institute has continued the work of turning students into Scholars and Scholars into leaders. Every year, we select one graduating senior from every public high school in Maine. Each Scholar is given support that starts with a scholarship, grows into personal and professional support—including leadership skills, professional connections and internships— and becomes part of a network that offers a lifetime of meaningful relationships. We believe every Maine student deserves an opportunity to succeed, and that success impacts not only the Scholar, but the communities we all live in as well.

Making a difference for over 25 years:


Scholar from every public high school in Maine


Scholars and growing

27 %

higher college graduation rate than national average

66 %

of Scholars stay in Maine after school

Meet a Mitchell Scholar

There are currently 550 Mitchell Scholars in college, hailing from every corner of the state. We’ve selected four Scholars to represent this impressive group. Please take a moment and get to know them—the future of Maine couldn’t be any brighter.

Donors make the difference

The work of the Mitchell Institute is only possible through the generosity of our donors. We are grateful to each and every one of you for giving Maine’s students the opportunity to succeed, especially in such a difficult year.
Thank you.

If you are new to the Mitchell Institute or have not made a donation yet this year, please consider making an investment in a future leader, and the future of Maine. Join us in creating the best possible Maine.

Invest in a Scholar today.

$10,000+ Leadership Donors
  • Abbott
  • Barbara Atkins
  • Back Bay Tower
  • Sara Burns and Bob Allen
  • Chagit and Roger M. Deitz
  • Bruce and Rebecca Epstein
  • Ethos
  • The Evergreen Foundation
  • Fisher Charitable Foundation
  • John T. Gorman Foundation
  • KeyBank
  • Frank and Ellie Langlois
  • Senator and Mrs. George Mitchell
  • Moriah Fund
  • The Peat Fund of The Philadelphia Foundation
  • Linda and Stuart Price
  • TD Bank
  • Galen and Sue Todd
  • WEX
$5,000-$9,999 Major Donors
  • Acadia Cove Scholarship Fund
  • Meg Baxter
  • Ann and Rick Bresnahan, in honor of Meg Baxter
  • Marjorie McHenry Bride
  • Central Maine Power
  • Crewe Foundation
  • Peter and Karen Fendler
  • GHM Insurance Agency
  • Lisa Gorman
  • Mark Haley
  • HUB International
  • Lee Auto Malls
  • Anne and Vince Oliviero
  • Christopher and Nancy Pierce
  • Unum
  • Virginia Swain, in honor of Meg Baxter
$1,000-$4,999 Donors
  • Tom and Sheila Adams
  • Duke and Nancy Albanese
  • Peter and Lori Anastos
  • Bangor Savings Bank
  • The Barmore Fund
  • Grace Berestecki
  • Bernstein Shur
  • BerryDunn
  • Bowdoin College
  • David and Susan Carlisle
  • The Honorable and Mrs. David Cohen
  • Consigli Construction Co., Inc.
  • Andrew Cook and Jacqueline Ellis
  • Michael and Katherine Coster
  • Mr. and Mrs. Chris Coyne
  • Abigail and Aristides Diaz
  • Mike and Denise Dubyak
  • Jake Edwards
  • Marcia and Bob Ellis
  • Amos Eno
  • Mark Fernandez and Anne Devine
  • Rollin and Averil Fessenden
  • Linda and Michael Fetters, in memory of Ann Lamb
  • Mary Mitchell Friedman and Harold Friedman
  • Robert Gips and Karen Harris
  • Mr. and Mrs. Richard Goff
  • Gorham Savings Bank
  • Peter and Harriette Griffin
  • Dennis Haines, in memory of Marilyn T. Haines
  • Harvard Pilgrim Health Care
  • Peter Haynes
  • K.C. and Lee Jones
  • Philip Licari and Caroline Phillips-Licari
  • Barry and Elizabeth Lipton, in memory of Harry Beskind
  • L.L.Bean
  • Ingrid and Christopher Loh
  • Machias Savings Bank
  • Maine Coast LLC
  • Maine Medical Center and MaineHealth
  • Michele Martin
  • Martin's Point Health Care
  • Jay McCloskey
  • Karen McDonald
  • Suzanne and Paul Mitchell
  • Jeff and Alison Nathanson
  • Nellie Mae Education Foundation
  • Pine State Beverage
  • Paige Piper and Robbie Carroll
  • Greg and Amy Powell
  • ProSearch
  • Colleen Quint and William Hiss
  • Hilary Rapkin and Will Styles
  • R.M. Davis
  • Saint Joseph's College of Maine
  • Melissa Roy and Matthew Schneider
  • Jim and Lynn Shaffer
  • Andrew Short and Andrea Vizoso
  • Spectrum Healthcare Partners
  • Smith Family Charitable Trust
  • Jean Smith
  • Sudarsky Family Foundation
  • Wendy and Eric Suehrstedt
  • Charles Swanson
  • John Tewhey
  • Turner Construction
  • University of New England
  • Verrill
  • Celeste Viger
  • Jacqueline Walker
  • Dr. David Wennberg and Senator Anne Carney
  • Christine Williams
  • Tim and Liz Williams
  • The Zisson Foundation
*Our 2021 donors through December 15, 2021